Who Represents Oakland?

Who Represents Oakland?

Where to Start? | Oakland | Alameda Co | Special Districts | California | United States

Where do I Start?

Check out your Alameda County Registrar of Voters Voter Profile.   GovTrack.US tracks the U.S. Congress and helps Americans understand what is going on in their national legislature. Check it out!

City of Oakland

Oakland City Hall  
#1 Frank H. Ogawa Plaza
Oakland CA 94612

Mayor Libby Schaaf Mayoral Town Halls

Oakland City Council

District Name
1    President Pro Tempore Dan Kalb and Dan's newsletters
2 Nikki Fortunato-Bas
3 Lynette Gibson McElhaney
4 Sheng Thao
5 Noel Gallo
6 Loren Taylor
7    Vice Mayor Larry Reid
Councilmember At Large and President Rebecca Kaplan
Find your City Council district here! City Council Meeting Info

City Attorney Barbara Parker

Appointed Officials

Port of Oakland, Executive Director Danny Wan
Public Ethics Commission, Executive Director Whitney Barazoto

City Administrator, Ed Reiskin

City Clerk, Acting City Clerk Asha Reed


Oakland Unified School District
1000 Broadway
Oakland CA 94607
Superintendent Kyla Johnson-Trammell

Board of Education Information

District Name
1  President Jody London
2  Vice President Shanthi Gonzales
3 Jumoke Hinton-Hodge
4 Gary Yee
5 Roseann Torres
6 Aimee Eng
7 James Harris
Student Directors Samantha Pal  
  Jessica Ramos  

Agendas, minutes and legislative files can be found at the Legislative Information Center

County of Alameda

The Alameda County Official Website is http://www.acgov.org

Board of Supervisors

District Area Name
3 Chinatown, San Antonio, Fruitvale and Melrose areas of Oakland; Alameda, San Leandro, San Lorenzo Wilma Chan
4 Oakland: lower hills, south hills and Elmhurst areas; Pleasanton, Castro Valley, Cherryland, Fairview, Ashland Nathan A. Miley
5 West and north Oakland, Rockridge and the north hills area of Oakland; Albany, Emeryville, Piedmont Keith Carson, Vice President
Clerk of the Alameda County Board, Anika Campbell-Belton

County Officials

Alameda County Board of Education

Oakland Trustees:

Area 1 N. Oakland Joaquin J. Rivera
Area 2 West, East Amber Childress
Area 3 N.Central Oak. Ken Berrick
Superintendent Karen Monroe

Special Districts

Peralta Community College District

Chancellor: Regina Stanback Stroud, Ed.D
College of Alameda
Laney College
Merritt College
Berkeley City College

Peralta Board of Trustees

Area (*Part of the area falls within Oakland)
1* Bill Withrow
2* Meredith Elayne Brown, Pres.
3* Linda Handy
4 Nicky Gonzalez Yuen
5* Cynthia Reiss
6*   Vice President Karen Weinstein
7*   President Julina Bonilla
student trustee Romina Contreras
student trustee Dowell Standley

AC Transit

General Manager Michael A. Hursh
Ward 2 Greg Harper, President
Ward 3 Elsa Ortiz
At Large H.E. Christian Peeples
At Large Joel Young

Bay Area Rapid Transit (BART)

General Manager Robert “Bob” Powers
District 3 Rebecca Saltzman
District 4 Robert Raburn
District 7 Lateefa Simon

East Bay Municipal Utility District (EBMUD)

Alexander Coate, General Manager
Ward 3 Marguerite Young
Ward 4 Andy Katz
Ward 5 Doug Linney
Ward 6 William B. Patterson

East Bay Regional Park District

General Manager Robert E. Doyle
Ward 2 Dee Rosario
Ward 4 Ellen Corbett


The State of California State Capitol, Sacramento CA 95814

Governor Gavin Newsom (D)
Lieutenant Governor Eleni Kounalakis (D)
Secretary of State Alex Padilla (D)
Attorney General Xavier Becerra (D)
Treasurer Fiona Ma (D)
Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Thurmond (D)
Insurance Commissioner Ricardo Lara

State Legislature

Find your district here!, or call the Alameda County Registrar of Voters, 272-6973, to determine your district.

CA Senate
Senate District 9 Senator Nancy Skinner

CA Assembly
Assembly Members for Oakland
District 15 Buffy Wicks (D)
District includes parts of Oakland (Rockridge, Montclair Hills as far south as the intersection of Joaquin Miller and Skyline, Dimond, Oakmore, Shepherd's Canyon, Piedmont Pines).
Here is a map of her district

District 18 Rob Bonta (D)
District includes Alameda; much of Oakland (West, Central and East); San Leandro.
Here is a map of his district

United States

The White House, Washington, DC
President Donald Trump (R)
Vice President Mike Pence (R)

THE United States Congress
U.S. Senate
U.S. Senator Kamala Harris (D)
U.S. Senator Dianne Feinstein (D)

U.S. House of Representatives
U.S. Representative Barbara Lee (D)
District 13: Alameda, Albany, Berkeley, Emeryville, Oakland, Piedmont and San Leandro

Click here for a list of all federal agencies in Washington, DC!